LX/LX-001 – Steekammchen

by vk3arr

The high point in Luxembourg awaited me next, above the charming village of Erpeldange, near Wiltz. There are a couple of paths up to the top, but I followed Phil ON4TA’s advice, parked to the north of the summit, and headed up ‘An der Gewaan’, which leads, ultimately, to the summit plateau. The walk up is easy enough, about 10-15 minutes, and I reached the first summit clearing quickly. This is likely in the activation zone, but rather than risk it, I headed further up to a second summit clearing, which was clearly in the activation zone. Along the way, I disturbed a deer.

Erpeldange, I parked towards the left (the silver SUV)

Erpeldange, I parked towards the centre (the silver SUV)

Once again, I found a clear frequency and got 21 in the log fairly quickly, including a S2S with HB/HB9BIN/P (the second for the day). As it looked like it was about to rain, I packed up quickly and descended, heading for my next destination, in France.

Up the path

Up the path

The shack

The shack

The walk was the first real walk I had to do to get to a summit, and it was quite nice. I recommend this summit to any visitors.