F/VO-052 – Kudertberg

by vk3arr

Again, I set the satnav up to take me to my next stop, F/VO-052 to the east of the town of Volmerange-les-Mines. It gave me a track that kind of matched what I’d expected from Google Maps, but kind of didn’t. In any case, what’s the worst that could happen? Last time I followed it I got stopped by the police. That sort of bad luck couldn’t happen again, right?

Of course, following a satnav is supposed to be easy, but when there’s an instruction to “bear left” and there’s a left turn lane, and then you try to get into it, right as the road narrows, a truck is in front of you in the right lane, and you’re suddenly squeezed for room and realising you’re actually not supposed to turn left, but to bear left further ahead. You can probably guess what happens next. A loud crunch, and the right wing mirror has clipped the back of the truck and, followed by a bunch of swearing from me, I pulled over into a side street and dealt with the very annoyed truck driver.

After reviewing his truck and noting no obvious damage (I basically hit the mudflap), I reviewed the damage to my car, which was the wing mirror being ripped right out, missing its plastic shell, and hanging on only via the wiring loom. Luckily I had a roll of duct tape available which enabled me to hold the mirror close to the door so it wasn’t going to flap around. I also read the hiring agreement, which said I had to report the damage immediately to the nearest Avis branch.

Oops

Oops

Satnav set again (do I trust it still?) and I headed off to the town of Bertrange to report. I arrived there and they basically said, “No, just report it when you hand it back.” That worked for me, as did the duct tape, although the sting to my pride was much worse. Once I realised the usual top-level cover I have as a regular hire car user wasn’t automatically applied in Europe, the sting to my wallet was worse (900 Euros worse). Once the car was returned, they also saw some scraping on the door handles and a dent where the mirror had hit the door, so plenty of damage there. I was grateful to only have to pay 900 Euros once it all was tallied up.

After Bertrange, I decided to head out to Kudertberg – I was going to go past it anyway, and I had a hotel booking in the Black Forest to get to. I had a brief panic as I took the turn off to Volmerange-les-Mines as there were more police pulling over random cars, and I now had a missing wing mirror to add to my problems. I managed to avoid that problem (they were on the other side of the road and gone by the time I went back). I also took a wrong turn (my fault, not the satnav), and ended up a one-way lane that took some effort to get back out of.

Finally, I hit the main road up to the top of Kudertberg, which is used as a launching place for hang gliders. The road is 4WD only, but I was able to take it all the way to the top. I passed a man walking to the top on the way. At the top there is a nice view east, as the peak has a pretty much solid drop off (perfect for hang gliding).

Panorama from top.  Quality is a bit poor

Panorama from top. Quality is a bit poor

View East.

View East. Cattenom Nuclear Power Plant in the distance

View North East

View North East

Once I parked and began to set up, the gentleman I’d passed reached the top and asked a few questions about what I was doing. He’d seen a few online documentaries, and had a reasonable grasp about the ionosphere (‘you bounce the signal off the clouds’) and how antennas worked (‘shorter is higher frequency’). He listened in, as I told him I expected to get into Germany, England and France with the signal.

By now it was almost 5pm, so most of Europe might have been at my beck and call on 40m, but I couldn’t find a clear frequency at all, so I switched to 20m (prompting the antenna conversation) and worked Portugal, Greece, Russia and then to my great surprise, N1GB with a strong 57 signal to my 55. Silva (as his name was) was amazed to think that an Australian had come all the way to France to climb a relatively small mountain to work someone in America using a bit of wire a few metres off the ground.

With four in the log and a long drive ahead of me, I packed up and bade farewell to my new friend. About three hours later, and a stop for linner (lunch/dinner), I arrived at my hotel in Germany, Berghotel Mummelsee, chosen specifically as it was about 100 vertical metres below a 10 point DM summit 😀

My friend poses.  He didn't transmit.

My friend poses. He didn’t transmit.

