Enfield State Park – VKFF-757

by vk3arr

I was starved of some radio action since coming back from Korea, so I grabbed the opportunity after finishing my chores to head up to Enfield State Park. I chose this as a variation on my usual Brisbane Ranges jaunts. Access was easy – out of Geelong, through Bannockburn and Teesdale, Rokewood, Dereel and Enfield.

On the way to Dereel, I passed a farm with a massive tribander in the yard, and made a note to check out who that was on my way back – I needn’t have searched hard, on the way back I saw a big sign for VK3CB!

I set up at the Surface Gully picnic area – there are a few nice seats there, space for a fire (which I should have availed myself of) and a good sign to strap the squid pole to. The weather was wet, but I thought I’d missed the last of it. Equipment was the 857, with linked dipole

The place I set up

The place I set up

I grabbed a towel from the car to avoid the wet posterior problem, and set up first on 40. I noticed an intermittent, traced back to the top of the dipole which had frayed and broken. The magic unicorn DX wire is nice, but can be quite fragile, despite the kevlar core. Taped up and got back on air.

The station

The station. Note the towel. Always know where your towel is.

I worked a total of 15 stations on 40m, tried 20 and 15 but with no joy. The weather closed in halfway through the 40m session, with predictable results on my logbook! It did pass, but I didn’t have long to spend on other bands as a consequence of trying to shield the book and still make contacts.

Home to a fish and chip dinner – one of the techniques I’d used to get the leave pass!

Memorial to Chinese gold diggers

Memorial to Chinese gold diggers

Surface Creek panorama

Surface Creek panorama

A different kind of panorama

A different kind of panorama

