W4C/EM-058 Redux and Rich in Raleigh

by vk3arr

After my last effort at W4C/EM-058, it was time to tackle the beast again, and a rest day in Raleigh, NC meant I could grab a car, go for a drive, and slay the dragon.

I left Raleigh at a sensible time, largely due to the lack of the usual drink-induced post-work-meeting stupor. This was because the meetings hadn’t started yet. I had checked out the weather and was a little worried: scattered thunderstorms, leading to thunderstorms in the evening. I left Raleigh in sunshine, and apart from a heavy shower I passed through, the activation was in sunshine.

Equipment used was my FT-857D, 4.2Ah LiFePO into the Buddistick vertical. I set up on the Overlook side, using one of the signs as a stand for the vertical. As I set up, I noticed my SWR meter had been shaken out of calibration due most likely to baggage handlers, so I was flying blind in terms of tuning the vertical. I got it roughly right, and compensated with power. I had plenty of forward power and some reflected, so the SWR was probably in the 2:1 area.

Contacts on 40m were slow, but I qualified the summit working first WX4ET, then NE4TN, KK4QML and finally Dow W4DOW, who has been looking for VK contacts. Final contact on 40m was Rich N4EX.

I then switched to 20m, got 4 more contacts, 2 in Florida and 1 to Oregon (NS7P) and 1 to New Jersey (KQ2RP), before I tried 15, 17m and 10m. I made no contacts there, and with my stomach wanting food, I decided to head back to Raleigh.

The view

The view

The view

The view

Later that week, I managed to catch up face to face with Rich N4EX. Rich and I had worked each other on 10m on April 1, and on 40m earlier in the week. We had an eyeball QSO, with Rich giving me the QSL card for our NA contact. Unfortunately, I had left mine at home, but we chatted for a good couple of hours about SOTA and all the many and varied things currently happening in this space.

All up, a great week in Raleigh, and now I get to head back home. I will be QRV in HL in a few weeks time.

Rich N4EX and Andrew VK3ARR

Rich N4EX and Andrew VK3ARR

Rich's QSL card

Rich’s QSL card

wpid-20150424_102006.jpg

