Marconi Wireless Station Poldhu

by vk3arr

Heading up from visiting The Lizard (the southernmost point of England), I realised I was somewhere near Poldhu. For those involved in Radio, Poldhu should be considered part of any pilgrimage, being the point where Marconi first transmitted across the Atlantic to North America.

I’d been reminded of the existence of Poldhu by watching TX Factor before I’d come, and seeing a sign to it as we left the Lizard, I convinced my wife to allow me a little time to check it out. I was met by Keith Matthew G0YWS who was pleased to accommodate a VK at the club, and gave me a great tour of the facilities. Keith features quite a bit in the TX Factor Episode 1, and was modest about the fact I’d recognised him from that.

In the end, I didn’t get around to setting up my radio to transmit portable from Poldhu given we were running late, but I can now tick that one off the Places Geeks Like Me Should Visit list.

Wireless Field, Poldhu

Wireless Field, Poldhu

The info board at Wireless Field, Poldhu

The info board at Wireless Field, Poldhu

Two towers used to string up a dipole.  Not the original Marconi towers, but lend an air.

Two towers used to string up a dipole. Not the original Marconi towers, but lend an air.

The remains of the generator building that powered the spark gap transmitter

The remains of the generator building that powered the spark gap transmitter

Wireless Field, looking back at the hotel and Marconi Centre

Wireless Field, looking back at the hotel and Marconi Centre

Wireless Field

Wireless Field

