G/DC-001 High Willhays

by vk3arr

With the weather looking fine for Wednesday, I had a plan to activate High Willhays and Brown Willy, the high points of Devon and Cornwall respectively. We set out early, High Willhays first, heading for the public access road from Okehampton Camp that everyone seems to use. I had an OS map of Dartmoor to help me out, and we set off for the summit at about 9:30am.

I had the OS map, but having studied it hard over the past few days, I stupidly kept it in my pack, resulting in missing a turnoff over Rowtor, and taking a longer route, which added about 1km to the journey. This extra kilometre would be the killer in the end. The path was steeper, the distance longer, and by the time we were back on the right path, my wife was exhausted, the jet-lag taking a strong toll. With Yes Tor and High Willhays looming above us, and another kilometre to go, we decided to head back.

While I am sure we could both have made it, I suspect I wouldn’t have been the most popular husband by the end of it. So, we took a nice long walk on Dartmoor with a radio on my back instead, and headed back to the car by the proper route. Having seen Yes Tor and High Willhays up close now, though, I have a strong urge to head back and complete the task. The landscape was stunning, and the weather was beautiful. I’d also spent so long thinking about getting up there, that to turn back early was very disappointing.

Having given up on High Willhays, it seemed prudent to give up on Brown Willy too. Thus, we called it a day SOTA wise, had lunch in Launceston and spent the afternoon in Looe. This was a good antidote!

Okehampton Camps

Okehampton Camps

West Mill Tor

West Mill Tor

Dartmoor

Dartmoor

Dartmoor

Dartmoor

Dartmoor sheep

Dartmoor sheep

Dartmoor

Dartmoor

Dartmoor

Dartmoor

IMG_8603

Brook

Brook

Small brook

Small brook

Dartmoor sheep

Dartmoor sheep

The path from the access road

The path from the access road

